Poise, Passion, and Power

Date, Time & Location

Sunday, October 21, 2018
3:30pm (90 min. duration)

The Commons Nugent-Custer Performance Hall


Online Ticket Purchases

Online ticket sales close the day of the concert. Please purchase your tickets at the door:

Adults: $15.00
Students/Seniors: $10.00

Discounted Tickets

We may require ID verification to validate discounted tickets at the door.

Program Summary

Featuring Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra cellist and former Columbus Symphony Orchestra conductor, Arkady Orlovsky, performing Robert Schumann’s Cello Concerto. Also: Maurice Ravel’s Bolero, and Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria Von Weber by Paul Hindemith.



Program Note by: Kaylee Fleenor

Maurice Ravel wrote Bolero as an experimental piece in 1928. Originally a request from Russian dancer Ida Rubinstein for a reworking of Iberia, the idea was later abandoned in favor of his own original work. Ravel loved the idea of using a single musical theme, which would then be enhanced by the growing orchestration. The famous motif came to him while on vacation in Saint-Jean-de-Luz. Sitting at the piano, he asked his friend, “Don’t you think that has an insistent quality?” Five months later, Ravel had finished his work. Spanning fifteen minutes, Bolero’s orchestration gradually builds into a loud and explosive piece. Ravel believed it to be his least important work, but it remains his most popular today.